هذا المشروع ممول من الاتحاد الأوروبي

2018
الجهة المتعاقدة
منظمة أوكسفام بالمملكة المتحدة
المدة المؤقتة
2017/04 - 2020/03
المؤسسات الشريكة/الجهات المستفيدة
منظمة أوكسفام بالمملكة المتحدة – المستفيد / المنسق الرئيسي
جمعية الإغاثة الزراعية الفلسطينية - الجهة المستفيدة
جمعية اصدقاء البيئة الفلسطينية - الجهة المستفيدة
المنظمة الهولندية للتعاون الإنمائي الدولي - منظمة تابعة لمنظمة أوكسفام بالمملكة المتحدة
الميزانية
€ 2.176.375
المنطقة المستهدفة
محافظتا رفح وخان يونس، غزة
الفئة السكانية المستهدفة
بحلول مارس سنة 2020، من المتوقع أن تستهدف خطة العمل هذه ما يصل إلى 213124 نسمة، 49% منهم من الإناث و 41% من الأطفال الرضع والأطفال الصغار. وعلى وجه التحديد، ستدعم العملية بشكل مباشر 650 فردًا (49% من الإناث و 51% من الذكور)، بمن فيهم مزارعو الماشية وأطفالهم واللجان المجتمعية ومنظمات الجهات المعنية.
100 مزارع (50 رجل و 50 امرأة) سيستفيدون بشكل مباشر من خطة العمل هذه.

السياق:
كشف تقرير المياه الذي أصدرته سلطة المياه في الآونة الأخيرة عن وجود انخفاض سريع وشامل في مستوى المياه الجوفية تحت مستوى منسوب مياه البحر، مما يتسبب في تسرب مياه البحر. تدل قياسات المياه على وجود انخفاض كبير في المخروط في محافظة رفح يبلغ حوالي 19 مترًا تحت مستوى منسوب سطح البحر، ويعتبر الحد الأقصى لخفض منسوب المياه في قطاع غزة. ووفقاً لوزارة الزراعة الفلسطينية، ارتفع إجمالي المساحة المزروعة في قطاع غزة من 189 ألف دونم في عام 2012 إلى 201 ألف دونم في عام 2014، مع استهلاك المياه للمحاصيل بمعدل 92.7 مليون متر مكعب سنويًا، في حين أن الكمية المتبقية والبالغة 2.6 مليون متر مكعب تستخدم للماشية. هذا الطلب الزراعي يفوق إمدادات المياه، والتي سيكون لها آثار ضارة طويلة الأجل وتتطلب حلولًا فورية وعاجلة.
يبين تقييم محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في المناطق الجنوبية من قطاع غزة (رفح وخان يونس) أن تحديث معبر رفح أمر ضروري للوصول إلى متطلبات المعالجة المحددة لإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي. وفي الوقت الراهن، يتم إنشاء أكثر من 10.000 م3 من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة جزئيًا بواسطة معبر رفح على أساس يومي ويتم تصريفها مباشرة في البحر المتوسط، مما يتسبب في تدهور البيئة والتلوث.
بناء على هذه القضايا، باشرت منظمة أوكسفام مع شركائها المحليين – جمعية اصدقاء البيئة الفلسطينية وجمعية الإغاثة الزراعية الفلسطينية بتنفيذ خطة عمل لمدة 3 سنوات لإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة للريّ الزراعي في جنوب قطاع غزة في أبريل سنة 2017 بتمويل من المفوضية الأوروبية.

الأهداف:
الهدف العام للمشروع هو المساهمة في المزيد من ممارسات المياه والزراعة المستدامة في قطاع غزة من خلال الحد من مصادر التلوث البحري القائمة على الأرض.
أما الهدف الخاص فهو تعزيز الإدارة المتكاملة لموارد المياه في قطاع غزة من خلال حلول بيئية وزراعية مبتكرة في جنوب غزة (محافظتي رفح وخان يونس).

الأنشطة:
يهدف تصميم خطة العمل هذه إلى تحقيق التنفيذ المستدام لهذا النهج المبتكر من خلال المكونات الأساسية الخمسة المترابطة فيما بينها:
1. تصميم وتطوير البنية التحتية.
2. المشاركة العامة ورفع الوعي وتطوير المعرفة.
3. نموذج العمل التجاري.
4. الحوكمة.
5. التعلم ومشاركة المعرفة.
محطة المعالجة اللاحقة التي ستنفذها منظمة أوكسفام وشركاؤها المحليون هي جزء من مشروع وطني يتضمن محطتين إضافيتين للمعالجة بعد المعالجة، وسيتم تنفيذه من قبل المجلس الاقتصادي الفلسطيني للتنمية والإعمار (بكدار) بعد الحصول على نموذج التمويل المطلوب من الوكالة اليابانية للتعاون الدولي وسيضخ المياه إلى المنطقة الغربية. سيكون برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي مسؤولًا عن إنشاء نظام شمسي خاص لتوفير محطات ما بعد المعالجة الثلاث بالكهرباء، وذلك بالتنسيق الكامل مع وزارة الزراعة، مصلحة مياه البلديات الساحلية، وسلطة المياه الفلسطينية، المجلس الاقتصادي الفلسطيني للتنمية والإعمار، ومنظمة أوكسفام. ومن الملاحظ أن موقع التنفيذ قد تم تحديده لتنفيذ محطة المعالجة الإضافية من خلال المجلس الاقتصادي الفلسطيني للتنمية والإعمار على أساس توافر الصندوق.

النتائج:
1 دونم من الأراضي الزراعية المروية المنتجة عن طريق إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي من خلال أنظمة مبتكرة ومستدامة لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي ونظام الريّ.
إدارة إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي من خلال تطوير وتفعيل إطار قانوني ونموذج حوكمة يشمل نظام تعريفة مستدام وعادل.
3. إنشاء نظام للرصد والتحقق لدورة العلاج وإعادة الاستخدام الكاملة، من التربة إلى مراقبة جودة المنتجات، وتنشيطها.
4. إعداد نموذج قابل للتكرار لإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي في الريّ الزراعي وتقييمه.
5. قبول استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي للريّ الزراعي بين أوساط المزارعين والمستهلكين.

This project is funded by the European Union

2018
Contracting party
OXFAM United Kingdom
Provisional duration
04/2017 – 03/2020
Partners/ Beneficiaries
Oxfam United Kingdom – Lead Beneficiary /Coordinator
Palestinian Agricultural Development Association PARC - Beneficiary
Palestinian Environmental Friends (PEF) - Beneficiary
Oxfam Novib - Affiliated Entity to Oxfam United Kingdom
Budget
€ 2.176.375
Target area
Rafah and Khan Younis Governorates, Gaza
Target population
By March 2020, up to 213,124 inhabitants, 49% of them are females and 41% infants and young children, in Rafah is expected to benefit from this action. Specifically, the action will directly support 650 individuals (49% female and 51% males) including livestock farmers and their children, community committees, and stakeholders’ organizations.
100 farmers (50 men and 50 women) will be directly targeted in this action.

Context:

The PWA’s recent water report reveals that there is a rapid and massive decline in the level of groundwater below the mean sea water level (MSL), causing seawater intrusion. The water measurements demonstrate that there is a large cone depression in Rafah governorate of about -19 m below MSL, considered as the maximum water level decline in the Gaza strip.  According to the Palestinian Ministry of Agriculture (MoA), the total cultivated area in the Gaza Strip has increased from 189 thousand dunams in 2012 to 201 thousand dunams in 2014, with water consumption for crops at 92,7 MCM annually, while the remaining 2,6 MCM is used for livestock. This agricultural demand is outstripping the water supply, which will have long-term deleterious effects and requires immediate and urgent solutions.

The assessment of wastewater treatment plants (WWTP) in the southern areas of the Gaza Strip (Khan Younis and Rafah) shows that upgrading of Rafah WWTP is required to reach the treatment requirements defined for reuse of wastewater. Currently, more than 10.000 m3 of partially treated wastewater is being generated by Rafah WWTP on a daily basis and is being discharged directly into the Mediterranean Sea, causing environmental degradation and pollution.

Based on these issues, Oxfam with its local partners; Palestinian Environmental Friends (PEF) and The Palestinian Development Association (PARC), began implementing a 3 year action for the Re-use of treated wastewater for agricultural irrigation in Southern Gaza Strip in April 2017 funded by the European Commission (EC).

Objectives:

The project’s overall objective is to contribute to more sustainable water and agricultural practices in the Gaza strip through reducing land-based sources of marine pollution.

Its specific objective is to strengthen integrated water resource management in the Gaza strip through innovative environmental and agricultural solutions in southern Gaza (Rafah and Khan Younis Governorates).

Activities:

The design of the action aims to achieve sustainable implementation of this innovative approach through inter-linking five core components:

  1. Design and development of infrastructure;
  2. Public engagement, awareness raising and knowledge development;
  3. Business model;
  4. Governance;
  5. Learning and knowledge sharing.

The post treatment plant that will be implemented by Oxfam and its local partners is a part of a national project, which includes two additional post treatment plants, which will be implemented by PECDAR after getting the needed fund form JICA and will pump the water to the western area. UNDP will be responsible to establish special solar system to provide the three post treatment plants with electricity in full coordination with the MoA, CMWU, PWA, PECDAR and Oxfam. Noting that the site of implementation was identified to implement the additional treatment plant through PECDAR based on availability of fund.

Results:

  1. 200 dunums of productive agricultural land irrigated by reuse of TWW through an innovative and sustainable waste water treatment and irrigation system;
  2. Wastewater re-use management institutionalised through development and activation of a legal framework and governance model that includes a sustainable and equitable tariff system;
  3. A monitoring and verification system for the full treatment and reuse cycle, from soil through to product quality monitoring, established and activated;
  4. A replicable model for TWW re-use for agricultural irrigation developed and evaluated;
  5. Acceptance of using TWW for agriculture irrigation among farmers and consumers.